The best and typically most ill-scheduled week of every academic year, whether way to early or too early, spring break happens. This is a, belated, spring break reflection post and pre-flection post. What I mean is that I’m going to be looking back at the spring breaks I’ve had so far in my college career as well as my last spring break as a student.

To begin, spring break has always been that one week every academic year that all my friends were stoked about going to a specific place and I rarely ever knew where I’d be going. My first year, I was more or less sent to Texas to visit family (which was pretty rad); last year, my mother and sister came to visit me in Prague (can’t complain about that either); and this year, I went down south to visit some family and had a layover in Washington, D.C. on the way there and back. The most recent was interesting for a variety of personal reasons, which I won’t go into, but my favorite part was my return layover in D.C. I was able to go touristing (it’ll become a word eventually), from Union Station to the National Mall. I hoped to have time to go into a museum, however it didn’t work out with traffic. The last time I was in D.C. and touristing was about seven years ago for the very American east-cost tradition of a trip to the nation’s capital.  

To say the least, after spending four months in Europe, I have only encouraged the travel bug that was nurtured into me. In my opinion, there’s not much that is better than walking around a city and seeing what is there and what it has to offer, to experience that city’s culture through personal observation rather than through a guide book or even a tour guide. It’s truly amazing what is sitting around the very next corner and all the history that lies along, in, and under a city’s streets.

I want to challenge you to outside, in YOUR city/metropolitan area/campus/outdoor space, and walk around for an hour. No data, no wifi, only a trusted offline-capable map (Google Maps) and see what you can find. Or, if you’re more like me, see what’s already there and figure out how to get there offline.

Happy traveling,
SaxxyChick

