To be completely fair, I did not intend this to be primarily a food blog, but food is a great common denominator with all of the people that I know. Even if a large group of people do not have the same dietary patterns, most people love a good meal, no matter what. Well, even though this is not a food blog, the title of this post is, yes, food (specifically a dessert).

I got my start in baking, at my grandmother’s house when she let me make a batch of peanut butter cookies one day, and they were not terrible, as far as I can remember. From then, I would help my parents make large holiday dinners and desserts, to making nearly all of my meals from scratch (I have yet to make breads and pastas), but I absolutely love being in a kitchen and sometimes the best way to relieve stress to force ingredients together into a cookie dough and wait for an oven do its magic, this time my oven made VEGAN CHOCOLATE COOKIES! The recipe is fairly simple, and I have a feeling that these cookies could make a great ice cream sandwich cookie *wink wink.* And, since I was absolutely in love with the vegan frosting recipe from the Vegan Desserts post, I decided what could be the harm of some excess sugar on the top of a cookie; it has been done before!

Ingredients

  • 1cup margarine (vegan, of course)
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 3cup sugar
  • 3 -4tablespoons water (I used three)
  • 1teaspoon salt
  • 1teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1cup cocoa or cacao powder

Process

  1. Cream margarine, oil, sugar and 1 tbsp of water until light and fluffy; mix in remaining 2-3 tbsp of water and beat well.
  2. Mix dry ingredients, in a new bowl; add to margarine mixture and mix until combined.
  3. Refrigerate for 30 minutes to an hour (I did 45 minutes); preheat oven 400°F (200°C) and grease a cookie sheet well.
  4. Form into balls (I made twelve decent sized cookies, but the original recipe said 24).
  5. Bake for 10 minutes (should be very puffy), and frost (if you so choose).

Sweet munching,
SaxxyChick

