I decided almost randomly to go vegan this summer, and one of my big hesitations was trying to figure out what I was going to eat since I now could not longer eat my then dietary staples: eggs and dairy. So, my youngest sister and I sought out many recipes, and one for cauliflower buffalo bites, however, we found this recipe before I went vegan. My sister, being the loving foodie that she is, found a completely vegan recipe for cauliflower buffalo bites, which she tested out with earlier this evening. So, here we go again:

Ingredients

  • 1 head of cauliflower (~4-5 cups)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 tbsp non-dairy butter
  • 1 cup hot sauce

Procedure

  1. Line baking sheets with parchment paper and pre-heat oven to 450 F.
  2. Wash and cut cauliflower into bite-sized pieces.
  3. Mix milk, water, flour, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, paprika, salt, and pepper; make sure the mixture is not too thick nor thin.
  4. Coat cauliflower with batter; bake for 25 minutes and flip halfway through.
  5. In a small saucepan over low heat, mix hot sauce and butter; take off as the butter starts to melt, and mix sauce.
  6. Put baked cauliflower in a mixing bowl and coat cauliflower with sauce mixture evenly.
  7. Put bake on the baking sheet and bake for 25 minutes, flip halfway through.
  8. Serve warm, and best over plain rice.

Cook up some tasty food and tell me how it goes,
SaxxyChick

