This is my first restaurant review on this blog and ever, actually, and what a better way to start than the best vegan place I’ve been to?! Red Bamboo (140 W 4th St # A, New York, NY 10012) serves only “vegan/vegetarian cuisine,” from American standards to some dishes more reminiscent of the restaurant’s name. Red Bamboo is almost literally a hole in a wall that could be easily missed if it wasn’t for its giant awning. It’s between the W 4th St ACE/BDFM station and Washington Square Park, almost on NYU’s campus. The pricing is a little on the expensive side, but then again we are in Manhattan.

I went in by myself tonight, and honestly wasn’t expecting that much. I decided that I would have two “starters” and I’d call a quits to the meal (because the pricing was a bit high for a college student’s budget). I ordered the Bamboo Nuggets and Tater Tots, because I felt like being the glorified child that post-secondary education has made socially acceptable, but I digress. I finished them rather quickly, even though I took my time eating and was still a bit hungry, and the waitress asked if I’d like dessert, and how could I pass up the chance for amazing cheezecake or a brownie if they had it?! And much to my surprise they had a brownie cheezecake!!

To say the least, by far the best meal I’ve had in a long time and i will definitely will be going back regularly! And, you might even see me there sometime! If you want or need more recommendations for restaurants that are vegan and veggie friendly, just wait, there’s more to come!

Till next time,
SaxxyChick

