Just in case you were wondering, yes, I know how to spell “cheese,” but this is my vegan version of a stovetop macaroni and cheese. I call it “killer” because I use finely chopped habanero peppers in it, so if you can’t handle spicy foods, opt out of the peppers or opt for a less spicy pepper. I learned a vegetarian version of this recipe but had to modify it when I went vegan, so I could still have homemade mac and cheese.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup non-dairy milk
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp habanero pepper, finely chopped or grated
  • 2 tsp green onion, chopped
  • A pinch of salt and pepper
  • Two servings of your favorite pasta
  • 3 cups water

Directions

  1. Bring water to a boil; add pasta; strain when ready.
  2. Bring non-dairy milk to a boil.
  3. Steep peppers, green onion (or any other vegetables), salt, and pepper in non-dairy milk for about three minutes.
  4. Whisk in flour until fully incorporated.
  5. Cover and let sit over low heat for five minutes.
  6. Mix cheeze sauce and pasta together.
  7. Let cool slightly and serve with caution (it’s spicy)!

Some other things that I like to add are tofu, shitaki mushroons, onions, asparagus, carrots, and broccoli (all chopped into bite size pieces).

Let me know if try out my recipe, because I’d love to know what you think!
SaxxyChick

